A DWI/DUI conviction, even a first-time one, can be remarkably impactful. Today, we will go over some of the different things a conviction on a first-offense DWI/DUI can expose a person to here in Louisiana.
For one, a person’s auto insurance premiums often increase in the wake of such a conviction. Now, as a note, such increases here in Louisiana may be smaller than they generally are in most other parts of the country. According to a recent report, the median auto insurance rate multiplier in Louisiana for a first-time DWI/DUI conviction is a multiplier of 1.27. There were only three states with a lower median multiplier.
There are a couple of things it is important to note about this. One is that this is just the median; a person could potentially end up facing higher increases over a first-time DWI/DUI. Also, when it comes to auto insurance costs, even relatively smaller increases can have significant effects on a person over time.
A first-time DWI/DUI conviction can also significantly curtail a person’s freedom. A person generally is to be given a prison sentence for such a conviction, with the possible range for the sentence being ten days to a half year. A variety of requirements have to be met for such a sentence to be suspended. Also, a person could end up facing a period of probation in relation to such a conviction.
A first-time DWI/DUI conviction also generally carries a fine with it. The typical range of the fine is $300 to $1000 (as a note, the minimum fine is raised in cases involving particularly high BAC levels). So, such a conviction can put significant financial pressure on a person.
On top of these, there are a range of other consequences being found guilty of a Louisiana first-offense DWI/DUI can have for a person. So, such a conviction can have implications for many different aspects of a person’s life.
So, cases involving allegations of a first-time DWI/DUI offense have no shortage of stakes attached to them. Given this, promptly obtaining the help and guidance of a skilled DWI/DUI defense attorney can be wise step to take when accused of a first-offense DWI/DUI.
Sources: nola.com, “Insurance cost of DWIs in Louisiana among lowest in U.S.,” Greg LaRose, May 4, 2016
Louisiana State Legislature, “Revised Statutes 14:98.1 – Operating while intoxicated; first offense; penalties,” Accessed May 17, 2016