Law Offices of Mark D. Frederick, LLC
Call to Schedule a Consultation Today
866-385-4007 | 24/7 Contact
view our Practice areas

Early criminal defense plans essential for DUI charges

Few criminal charges have the same real-world impact as those for drunk driving. Even first time offenders can face jail time, fines and the loss of their driving privileges. When faced with allegations of driving under the influence in Louisiana, it is incredibly important to begin considering all possible criminal defense options as early on as possible.

A conviction for a first-time DUI offense carries a minimum sentence of 2 days in jail. While this might not seem extensive, any time spent behind bars can have devastating consequences. For some, missing two days of work can lead to their termination. For others, there might be no one to look after their children during their 48 hours away from home. The minimum time behind bars increases with each subsequent offense, with 30 days for second offenses and 45 days for third.

Jail time is not the only worry for those charged with a DUI or DWI. If convicted, most people are hit with hefty fines and many must install an interlock ignition device in their vehicle. Even those who avoid conviction must usually deal with a loss of driving privileges, which can leave individuals feeling stranded in a world that relies heavily on personal motor vehicles.

Early preparation is essential with drunk driving drunk charges, as legal consequences for drunk driving allegations tend to be fast and harsh. This includes considering all possible criminal defense approaches to determine which will secure the best possible outcome. We proudly guide Louisiana defendants through these types of confusing and uncertain times to create the most complete defense possible.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information